top of page

All state qualifiers from boys and girls wrestling in Peoria and Bloomington/Normal areas

Richwoods wrestling
Richwoods' Jaida Johnson wrestles against Alton's Elanna Hickman in the 155-poud championship at the Richwoods Sectional on Feb. 10. Jonathan Michel/Clutch Sports Media

Sectional wrestling took the state by storm on Saturday with all three classes of boys wrestling and single-class girls wrestling. 59 wrestlers from around the area qualified for the individual state championships and 14 were sectional champions. 

Note: This story is free to read on CSM Overtime, subscribe here to get access to all of our written content with multiple stories daily on high school sports in Central Illinois!

Washington and Bloomington boasted the most qualifiers with eight and five, respectively,  all on the boys side. Richwoods and East Peoria were among the local schools that cleaned up the most at the Richwoods Sectional in girls wrestling. 

The boys individual state championships will be held at the State Farm Center in Champaign from Feb. 15-17, while the girls individual state championships will take place at Grossinger Motors Arena in Bloomington on Feb. 23 and 24. 

Take a look at the full list of state qualifiers below. 

*denotes sectional champion

Boys wrestling

Class 1A

Peoria Notre Dame: Ian Akers* (113), Chase Daugherty (150), Michael McLaughlin* (285)

Illini Bluffs: Hunter Robbins (113), Ian O’Connor (138), Jackson Carroll* (144)

Canton: Dyllan Steele (106), Maddux Steele (113), Danny Murphy (190), Connor Williams (285)

Farmington: Keygan Jennings (132), Bradlee Ellis (138) 

Olympia: Dylan Eimer (113), Bentley Wise* (150), Kelton Graden (157), Nolen Yeary (215) 

Tremont: Mason Mark (138), Bowden Delaney* (165)

Peoria Heights: Isaac Coleman (215) 

Class 2A

Washington: Noah Woods (120), Eli Gonzalez (126), Timmy Smith (132), Wyatt Medlin* (138), Peyton Cox* (144), Cael Miller* (165), Zane Hulet (175), Josh Hoffer (190)

Morton: Noah Harris (106), Steven Marvin (150)

Metamora: Grady Neal (144)

Dunlap: Nick Mueller (165) 

East Peoria: Jose Del Toro (285)

Bloomington: Jaylen Sandy (106), Tyler Barlow (113), Maddox Kirts* (165), Kenner Bye (190), Stephen Carr (285)

Normal West: Dylan McGrew (113), Evan Willock (157), Gus Schreiber (175)

Class 3A

Normal Community: Caden Correll* (106), Cole Gentsch (120), Cooper Caraway (215)

Pekin: Ramez Watson (144)

Girls wrestling

Richwoods: Isabella Motteler (130), Kaila Williams* (140), Jaida Johnson* (155)

East Peoria: Bailey Lusch (105), Kennedy McMeninmen (110), Dezyrae Murray (145)

Pekin: Tessa Donaldson (105)

Morton: Karen Canchola (130)

Peoria Notre Dame: Autumne Williams (170)

Canton: Kinnley Smith* (125), Katleyn Marvel* (145)

El Paso-Gridley: Kianna Mayne (120), Savanah Hamilton (155)

Normal U-High: Allison Kroesch (115)

Olympia: Jordan Bicknell (135)

139 views0 comments


bottom of page